In MyGlue, there are two kinds of permissions that determine each user's overall permission level: user role permissions and security permissions.
User roles and allowed actions
Each user is assigned a pre-defined user role that gives them permission to perform a set of actions. Each MyGlue user has one of the roles shown below.
||Can view assets, but not create, edit, or delete them.
||Can view, create, and edit assets, but not delete them.
||Can view, create, edit, and delete assets.
Your IT service provider is responsible for creating more users and assigning their user roles. Typically, current members of your company are given the Creator role and temporary employees and consultants are given the Lite role. The Editor role may be reserved for those users who have more responsibility for developing and maintaining your company's data in MyGlue.
Keep in mind that your IT service provider controls the top-level security permissions in your account, such as who has access to an organization.
For every asset created in MyGlue, there is a set of permissions that provides access to that asset to other users and user security groups. Anyone with a Creator or above role can assign permissions to an asset.
When you create an asset in MyGlue, the asset will have the same security permissions as the organization in which the asset is located. This is the default for all assets, and you should generally keep the default permissions of assets that are not sensitive to disclose within the organization.
Explicitly set permissions
For sensitive information, you can choose to limit/restrict access to an asset, so that only certain individuals or groups have permission to access it.
An asset can also be shared with your IT service provider by explicitly choosing one or more groups to give access to. With MyGlue, you can share assets with your IT service provider on your own terms, using a security model you define for your own data which you can update as often as you like.
Self-Service: Manage your permissions in bulk
You can self-manage your security permissions by creating, editing, and updating your own groups and security permissions.
Easily move or delete multiple passwords in bulk within an organization, saving you time from having to edit password permissions individually.
- From any MyGlue organization, click Passwords in the left sidebar.
- Then, select the passwords to be bulk updated, click the down arrow next to the checkbox column heading, and click Security.
- Select either "All MyGlue Users..." or "Add or remove Groups/Users".
- If you select "All MyGlue Users...", review Step 5.
- If you select "Add or remove Groups/Users", use the filter fields to add and review users and groups as needed.
Note: This option will only work if individual passwords are selected. Users will not have an option to manage folder security here.
- After all the selections have been made for each Group and User field, click Save.
- A red banner will appear allowing you to confirm your changes. Please ensure the changes you make are intended as the operations cannot be undone.
Once complete, a green confirmation banner will appear. Security permission changes are applied in the background and may take a while depending on the number of passwords being modified.
Next: Limiting/restricting access to passwords