Backup Catalog: Backups with Errors
In the Backup Catalog, you may encounter a backup that has been flagged with an alert icon . This indicates that an error occurred during post-processing, after the backup was completed, and the backup should be run again (if the original backup was run with CBT on, run the next backup without CBT). Backups flagged with an alert will remain until they are deleted, either manually or via the PHD VBA's retention policy.
Note: Backups flagged with an alert may not restore correctly depending upon where the post-processing error was encountered. As an alternative, File Recovery can be used to access the backed up disks in an attempt to restore files.
The System Alerts area of the Dashboard also displays an alert that indicates an error has occurred during post-processing, as illustrated in the following image.
Click View alerts to display the alert dialog. In the System Alerts Viewer window that opens, you will see additional details about which backups were affected. To clear the alert from the Dashboard, click Delete All Alerts in the System Alert Viewer. Note that deleting these alerts removes only the alert messages, not the actual backup files.
For more detailed information on backup failures and performance issues see Unitrends KB 5062 - Backup Failures and Performance Issues